• Marriage in Maine

EQME announces endorsements for 2016 State Senate & House

Chris O'Connor's picture
Written by Chris O'Connor
October 7, 2016 - 3:45pm

EqualityMaine is proud to announce its endorsements for candidates in State Senate and State House races across Maine.  These canadiates reflect the values of EqualityMaine and have all demonstrated a commitment to full equality for all LGBT Mainers. We hope that you will join us in supporting these candidates by voting for them in your respective districts. We need pro-LGBT leaders standing up to defend and advance equal rights in Augusta!

To find out what district you live in and find your polling location, go to:

Endorsed Candidates for State Senate 

District 1: Troy Jackson (D-Aroostook County)

District 3: Jeff McCabe (D-Somerset County)
District 4: Carole Boothroyd (D-Piscataquis County)
District 5: James Dill (D-Penobscot County)
District 6: Rock Alley (D-Washington County) & Joyce Maker (R-Washington County)
District 7: Moira O’Neill (D-Hancock County)
District 9: Geoffrey Gratwick (D-Penobscot County)
District 11: Jonathan Fulford (D-Waldo County)
District 12: David Miramant (D-Knox County)
District 13: Chris Johnson (D-Lincoln County)
District 14: Shenna Bellows (D-Kennebec County)
District 15: Henry Dilts (D-Kennebec County)
District 16: Henry Beck (D-Kennebec County)
District 17: Joanne Dunlap (D-Franklin County)
District 18: John Patrick (D-Oxford County)
District 20:  Kimberly Sampson (D-Androscoggin County)
District 21: Nathan Libby (D-Androscoggin County)
District 23: Eloise Vitelli (D-Sagadahoc County)
District 24: Brownie Carson (D-Cumberland County)
District 25: Catherine Breen (D-Cumberland County)
District 26: Bill Diamond (D-Cumberland County)
District 27: Ben Chipman (D-Cumberland County)
District 28: Mark Dion (D-Cumberland County)
District 29: Rebecca Millett (D-Cumberland County)
District 30: Jean-Marie Caterina (D-Cumberland County)
District 31: Justin Chenette (D-York County)
District 32: Susan Deschambault (D-York County)
District 33: Andrea Boland (D-York County)
District 34: Jonathan Kilbourn (D-York County)
District 35: Dawn Hill (D-York County)

Endorsed Candidates for State House

District 1: Deane Rykerson (D-Kittery)
District 2: Mark Lawrence (D-South Berwick) 
District 3: Lydia Blume (D-York) 
District 5:  Joshua Plante (D-Berwick)
District 8: Chris Babbidge (D-Kennebunk) 
District 9: Diane Denk (D-Kennebunk) 
District 11: Ryan Fecteau (D-Biddeford) 
District 12: Martin Grohman (D-Biddeford) 
District 14: Donna Bailey (D-Saco) 
District 15: Margaret O’Neil (D-Saco) 
District 16: River Payne (D-Hollis) 
District 18: Anne-Marie Mastraccio (D-Sanford) 
District 19: Nalbert Tero (D-Sanford) 
District 20: Daniel Lauzon (D-Lebanon) 
District 23: Pamela Smith (D-Standish)
District 24: Mark Bryant (D-Windham) 
District 26: Maureen Terry (D-Gorham) 
District 27: Andrew McLean (D-Gorham) 
District 29: Theo Kalikow (D-Scarborough) 
District 30: Kimberly Monaghan (D-Cape Elizabeth) 
District 31: Lois Galgay Reckitt (D-South Portland) 
District 32: Scott Hamann (D-South Portland) 
District 33: Brad Fox (D-South Portland) 
District 34: Drew Gattine (D-Westbrook) 
District 36: Denise Harlow (D-Portland) 
District 37: Richard Farnsworth (D-Portland) 
District 38: Matt Moonen (D-Portland) 
District 39: Michael Sylvester (D-Portland) 
District 40: Rachel Talbot Ross (D-Portland) 
District 41: Erik Jorgensen (D-Portland) 
District 43: Heather Sanborn (D-Portland) 
District 44: Teresa Pierce (D-Falmouth) 
District 45: Dale Denno (D-Cumberland) 
District 47: Janice Cooper (D-Yarmouth) 
District 48: Sara Gideon (D-Freeport) 
District 49: Matthea Daughtry (D-Brunswick) 
District 50: Ralph Tucker (D-Brunswick) 
District 51: Joyce “Jay” McCreight (D-Harpswell) 
District 52: Jennifer DeChant (D-Bath) 
District 53: William Neilson (D-Arrowsic) 
District 54: Denise Tepler (D-Topsham) 
District 55: Seth Berry (D-Bowdoinham) 
District 56: Scott Gaiason (D-Lisbon) 
District 58: James Handy (D-Lewiston) & Matthew Roy (R-Lewiston) 
District 59: Roger Fuller (D-Lewiston) 
District 60: Jared Golden (D-Lewiston)
District 61: Heidi Brooks (D-Lewiston)
District 63: Nathan LeClair (D-Auburn)
District 64: Bettyann Sheats (D-Auburn) 
District 65: Elijah Breton (D-Poland)
District 66: Jessica Fay (D-Raymond)
District 67: Rachel Lyn Rumson (D-Gray)
District 68: Christine Powers (D-Naples)
District 69: Walter Riseman (U-Harrison)
District 70: Helen Rankin (D-Hiram)
District 76: Jill Ducharme (D-Wayne)
District 77: Alan Tibbetts (D-Sidney)
District 78: Catherine Nadeau (D-Winslow)
District 79: John Glowa (D-China)
District 80: Lori Fowle (D-Vassalboro)
District 81: Craig Hickman (D-Winthrop)
District 82: Kent Ackley (U-Monmouth)
District 83: Gay Grant (D-Gardiner)
District 84: Charlotte Warren (D-Hallowell)
District 85: Donna Doore (D-Augusta)
District 87: Wendy Ross (D-Wiscasset)
District 88: James Torbert (D-Whitefield)
District 90: Mick Devin (D-Newcastle)
District 91: Emily Trask-Eaton (D-Waldoboro)
District 93: Anne “Pinny” Beebe-Center (D-Rockland)
District 94: Kathleen Meil (D-Rockport)
District 95: Elinore Goldberg (D-Hope)
District 96: Stanley Ziegler (D-Montville)
District 97: Erin Herbig (D-Belfast)
District 98: Scott Cuddy (D-Winterport)
District 99: April Turner (D-Freedom)
District 101: James Davitt (D-Hampden)
District 107: Betty Austin (D-Skowhegan)
District 108: Aaron Rowden (D-Fairfield)
District 109: Thomas Longstaff (D-Waterville)
District 111: Ann Dorney (D-Norridgewock)
District 112: Barbara Chassie (D-Phillips)
District 117: Sidney Pew (D-Andover)
District 120: Richard Evans (D-Dover-Foxcroft)
District 121: Robert Duchesne (D-Hudson)
District 122: Michelle Dunphy (D-Old Town)
District 123: Ryan Tipping-Spitz (D-Orono)
District 124: Aaron Frey (D-Bangor)
District 125: Victoria Kornfield (D-Bangor)
District 126: John Schneck (D-Bangor)
District 127: Barbara Cardone (D-Bangor)
District 129: Teresa Montague (D-Clifton)
District 131: Dorothy Caldwell (D-Penobscot)
District 132: Louie Luchini (D-Ellsworth)
District 133: Ralph Chapman (D-Brooksville)
District 134: Walter Kumiega (D-Deer Isle)
District 135: Brian Hubbell (D-Bar Harbor)
District 137: Laurie Fogelman (D-Franklin)
District 139: Colleen Morton (D-Eastport)
District 140: Anne Perry (D-Calais)
District 142: Lee Ann Betz (D-Lincoln)
District 146: Rosemary Monahan (D-Woodland)
District 147: Robert Saucier (D-Presque Isle)
District 149: Ginette Rivard (D-Caribou)
District 150: Roland “Danny” Martin (D-Sinclair)

Donate to Protect Maine Marriage


Equality Federation

EqualityMaine is a proud member of the Equality Federation

Equality Federation